Drought Disaster Aid Now Available to Missouri

Drought Disaster Aid Now Available to Missouri

USDA designates 101 counties in Missouri as Primary Natural Disaster Areas due to summer extreme heat and lingering drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 101 counties in Missouri as natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought and excessive heat that occurred from July 1 to Aug. 30, 2011. The counties are:

Adair                       Cooper               Jefferson               Morgan         Schuyler

Audrain                    Crawford            Johnson                Newton         Scotland

Barry                        Dade                   Knox                   Oregon          Shannon

Barton                      Dallas                  Laclede                Osage           Shelby

Bates                        Daviess               Lafayette              Ozark            St. Charles

Benton                     Dent                    Lawrence             Pemiscot        St. Clair

Bollinger                  Douglas                Lewis                   Perry             St. Francois

Boone                     Dunklin                 Lincoln                 Pettis             St. Louis

Butler                      Franklin                Linn                      Phelps           Stoddard

Caldwell                  Gasconade           Livingston             Pike               Stone

Callaway                 Gentry                  Macon                  Platte             Sullivan

Camden                  Greene                  Madison               Polk              Taney

Cape Girardeau       Grundy                 Maries                  Pulaski          Texas

Carter                      Harrison               Marion                 Putnam          Vernon

Cass                        Henry                   McDonald            Ralls              Warren

Cedar                      Hickory                Mercer                 Randolph       Washington

Chariton                   Howard               Miller                    Ray               Wayne

Christian                   Howell                 Moniteau              Reynolds       Webster

Clark                       Jackson                Monroe                Ripley            Worth

Clay                         Jasper                  Montgomery         Saline            Wright


"President Obama and I understand that this drought has caused severe damage to crops in Missouri and we want to help," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. "America's farmers and rural communities are vitally important to our nation's economy, producing the food, feed, fiber and fuel that continue to help us grow and out-compete the rest of the world. This action will provide assistance to hundreds of farmers in Missouri who suffered significant production losses during this challenging season."

Farmers and ranchers in Andrew, Buchanan, Carroll, Clinton, De Kalb, Iron, New Madrid, Nodaway, Scott, Ste. Genevieve counties, and the independent city of St. Louis also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Oct. 17, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

Source: USDA-FSA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.