MCA Marks 100 Years At Convention

MCA Marks 100 Years At Convention

Missouri Cattlemen's Association pays tribute to past and present at December meeting in Columbia.

The Missouri Cattlemen's Association celebrated its 100th year serving as the voice of Missouri's 60,000 beef producers at the MCA annual convention on Dec. 16-17 in Columbia. MCA staff and officers focused special events on the history of the association and the celebration of its centennial birthday.

Beginning in 1911 as the Missouri Cattle Feeders Association, and transitioning to the Missouri Livestock Association in 1916, the Missouri Cattlemen's Association became known by its trademark name in 1968 under MCA president C.W. Caldwell. The MCA staff researched the association's archives and highlighted 100 years of accomplishment and history at a special birthday presentation Dec. 17.

During the two-day convention, cattlemen and cattlewomen from across the state had the chance to visit with trade show exhibitors, learn more about beef cattle production, participate in MCA's annual meeting, and network with other leaders in the beef industry. In total, attendance numbers reached more than 350 people.  

Lonny Duckworth of Butler was elected president of MCA for 2012 during the annual meeting after serving as first vice president this past year. Dr. Chuck Massengill, California, was elected first vice president and Ben Fizette of Golden City was voted in as second vice president. Sheryl Brewe of Marthasville was re-elected as secretary/treasurer.

Also during the annual meeting, individual caucuses elected new regional vice presidents to serve the Missouri Cattlemen's Association membership across the state. Regions 1, 3, 5 and 7 were up for re-election. The new members include: Region 1-Tony Francis, Paris; Region 2-Greg Buckman, Hallsville; Region 3-Matt Hardecke, Farmington; Region 4-Luke Jackson, Cameron; Region 5-Patty Wood, La Monte; Region 6-Morris Westfall, Half Way; and Region 7- Jim McCann, Miller.

Source: Missouri Cattlemen's Association
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.